Roof works paused for New Year break / Кровельные работы приостановлены на новогодние праздники

While this year’s last donation pushed our campaign at https://www.gofundme. com/f/tsakuri-church-reconstruction over the $2,000 line, the team on site finishes works in 2019 and covers the church roof with blue tarpaulin to protect the building from snow and ice. The renewed church stands proudly in the center of Tsakuri village, waiting for new donations in 2020. Season’s greetings and a big THANK YOU to all benefactors!

Благодаря последнему пожертвованию этого года наша кампания https://www.gofundme.com/f/tsakuri-church-reconstruction взяла отметку в 2000 долларов! Рабочие на стройке в это время заканчивают работы этого года и закрывают крышу церкви синим брезентом, чтобы защитить здание от снега и льда. Обновленная церковь гордо стоит в центре деревни Цакури, ожидая новых пожертвований в 2020 году. Предновогодние пожелания и БОЛЬШОЕ СПАСИБО мы говорим всем нашим благотворителям!

Interior of “Holy Mother of God” church / Внутреннее убранство церкви “Святой Богородицы”

The interior of the Church of the “Holy Mother of God” church has always been modest, the walls erected from local stone are one meter thick, and the layout of the church is rectangular. The height of the dome composition is over 5 meters, the arrangement is very similar to the church in Gandzasar, built forty years later than “Surb Astvatsatsin”. Well preserved are high arches, windows, cross stones and niches in the walls, cornices and the altar. Behind the altar, two staircases lead to the roof, and on the ceiling in one place there is a snake symbol which of course inspires various legends, as evidenced by local residents who never stopped praying and lighting candles in this temple.

A traditional cross on the dome has not been preserved, unfortunately. There is even no proof for its existence from the times when Artsakh was conquered by foreign powers.  According to the legend, beautiful wall carpets hanging in the church were the only luxury inside before the church was closed down during Soviet times. The only salvaged utensil of “Surb Astvatsatsin” is a small insence casket, kept by the great granddaughter of the last priest Melikset Ter-Martirosyan who will returned it to the church after restoration. Another piece from the Tsakhkavank monastery, a silver chalice, was donated to St. Gayane Monastery in Echmiadzin by the next-to-last priest, Krikor Ter-Martirosyan, in 1903 and is now displayed in the Museum of the Cathedral of the Armenian Apostolic Church in Etchmiadzin.

Внутреннее убранство по традиции скромное, стены, возведенные из местного камня, метровые, а планировка церкви прямоугольная. Высота купольной композиции свыше 5 метров, по расположению своему она напоминает Гандзасар, построенный на сорок лет позже чем Сурб Аствацацин. Хорошо сохранились высокие арки, окна, хачкары и ниши в стенах, а также карнизы и место алтаря. За алтарем две лестницы ведут на крышу, а на потолке в одном месте изображена змея, овеянная  разными легендами, о которых свидетельствуют местные жители, никогда не переставшие в этом храме молиться и ставить свечи.

K сожалению, на куполе не сохранился традиционный крест, который вероятно был снят во времена завоевания иноверцев. От церковной утвари, по преданию отличавшейся красивыми настенными коврами, после закрытия церкви советской властью осталась одна единственная ладанница, которая хранится у правнучки последнего священника Меликсета Тер-Мартиросяна и будет возвращена в храм после реставрации. Другая реликвия, серебряный потир, предпоследним священником Крикором Тер-Мартиросяным в 1903 г. была подарена монастырю Св. Гаянэ в Эчмиадзине и сегодня находится в музее Кафедрального собора Армянской Апостольской церкви в Эчмиадзине.

History of the Holy Mother of God church in Tsakuri / История церкви “Сурб Аствацацин” (Святой Богородицы) в с. Цакури

Tsakhkavank, the „Flower monastery“, is situated on a small hill in the very heart of Tsakuri village. It is surrounded by blossoming apple, pear and walnut trees and by the fragrant flower meadows of the Hadrut region in the South-Eastern part of Mountainous Karabakh, Armenia. The ancient monastery was founded in 1198. This is the year of the oldest stone cross on the frontal of the Church. The main Church of the ancient monastery complex is fully preserved with high arches over an almost square base. The interior of the Church is simple with several recesses, alcoves, cross stones and windows made from local stone. The walls have a thickness of more than one meter. The most interesting detail in the Church is the snake relief on the left ceiling. Unfortunately the Church’s dome was not preserved. It must have been beautiful in the surrounding landscape. The carved ornamental portal is the most remarkable part of the church and makes the “Surb Astvatsatsin” church one of the jewels of Armenian Christian architecture in the XII century.

Below footage is courtesy of video blogger Albert Voskanyan.

Portal of Tsakuri church
Surb Astvatsatsin church in Tsakuri, 1198 / церковь Святой Богородицы, 1198 г.

По самому древнему хачкару, найденному в церкви, Сурб Аствацин, когда-то бывшая частью целого монастырского комплека “Цахкаванк” (переводится как «Цветочный монастырь»), датируется 1198 годом. Снаружи церковь прямоугольная, с  купольной композицией внутри, по форме и высоте сводов напоминающей Гандзасар. Боковые метровые стены выполнены из местного камня. Внутреннее убранство простое. Сохранились высокие арки, окна, хачкары на стенах, ниши и карнизы алтаря. За алтарем две лестницы ведут на крышу. А на потолке наиболее интересная и овеянная  разными легендами деталь – это изображение змеи. Здание главной церкви этого монастырского комплекса полностью уцелело. Оставшаяся от всего комплекса церковь впечатляет снаружи своим красивейшим порталом и изнутри высокими арками. Не сохранился лишь купол, подлежащий реконструкции. Сурб Аствацацин является достойным образцом армянского зодчества XII века.

Краткий ролик видеоблогера Альберта Восканяна